Japanese Souffle Cheesecake

I remembered when I first eaten Japanese cheesecake from Ichiban Sushi Restaurant around 20 years ago. I fell in love with cheesecake since then. The cake was so cottony soft and fluffy yet not very cheesy. At that time, my department manager bought the cake for us during tea break, everyone was snatching for it. I managed to take a piece but I was sad that I couldn’t get another helping.

My inspiration for baking has blossomed since the day I started baking. I told myself I have to try to bake this kind of cheesecake to indulge myself. I found many recipes and so I decided to use this one. But I omitted orange zest.

This is my first attempt. Although the bottom of the cake is slightly denser than the top, it is as good as the cheesecake in Ichiban Sushi Restaurant. Thanks to the technology, I am able to find more recipes on the internet. I will try again next time.

My son and youngest daughter liked everything I baked but not for this Japanese cheesecake. They prefer cheesecakes with flavours like my previous few cheesecakes that I made. Oreo cheesecake, blueberry cheesecake.. These cheesecakes are the non-bake type, which they like. Since they both of them do not like this cheesecake, I ate a lot of it. It was so irresistible that I almost took half of the cake right after taking out from the oven. The remaining ones I put in the refrigerator. It tastes as good when it is chilled too.

Leave a Reply

