Durian Cake!

I had never expected that I made another birthday cake after baking for my nephew’s birthday.

This was supposed to be a surprise for my sister-in-law’s birthday which was on the 6th of June. Last year she asked me twice whether do i know how to how to make durian muffins or cake. I somehow got the hint that my sister-in-law likes durian, so I wanted to make for her a durian sponge cake. It was indeed a big challenge for me as I did not make any durian cake before. I was very busy at that point of time to prepare and experiment before making one on her actual birthday. Furthermore, her birthday was approaching…

I have to do it well and good at the first try! So I browsed through the internet for some good durian cake recipes.. The basics of baking a cake is just baking the sponge cake and covering it with frosting cream with decoration, that’s all. That is the simplest version of a cake. I used the recipe that I used to bake my nephew’s birthday cake as a guide. However, I did not follow the recipe entirely because I find the result of the sponge cake was not puffy and soft enough.

This is the recipe I used that I found on the internet.

Sponge Cake
Ingredients
4 eggs
1/2 cup sugar, divided into 2 portions
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 cup superfine flour
3 tbsp vegetable oil
1/4 tsp lemon juice
50 ml milk

Preparation
1. Preheat oven to 160C.
2. Sift the flour together with the baking powder twice to airate the flour.
3. Separate the egg yolk from the white.
4. In the bowl with the egg white, add the cream of tartar and lemon juice and beat until it thickens. Add 1/4 cup of sugar and beat further until the mixture shines.
5. In another bowl, beat the egg yolk with the remainder 1/4 cup of sugar until the sugar dissolve.
6. Add milk and vegetable oil into the egg yolk mixture and stir to mix well.
7. Fold in the flour mixture into the egg yolk mixture.
8. Gently fold in 1/3 of the egg yolk flour mixture into the egg white until well mixed. Repeat with the remainder of the egg yolk in 1/3 portions.

Pour the mixture into 8″ cake pan. Preheat the oven for 30 minutes until its baked. It will be cooked fully when you check by using a stick and it comes out clean. Cut the cake into 3 layers when it is cooled.

Creamy Durian Filling
Ingredients
350gm of fresh durian pulp
100gm of non-dairy whip cream
1/2 tbsp gelatin, dissolved in 50ml warm water

Preparation
Whip the non-dairy cream until it can hold its form. Do not over whip.
Gently add the durian pulp to the cream till evenly mixed.
Chill in the fridge till ready for use.


Creating the layers of the cake and applying durian cream in between..


Did the layering! It’s time for decoration and covering the cake with whipped cream 🙂


This is the overall result of the cake! 🙂 I’m so happy with it!

This cake was meant to be a surprise for her, thus I did not inform her about the cake or celebrating for her. On her birthday, we got her daughter to help us to surprise her. We asked her daughter to tell us when they are at home so we can surprise her at her house. We are so excited to light up the candles and present the cake to her. This is out first time doing this.

When she opened the door, she was surprised and delighted to see us. Another main purpose of baking this cake for her is to thank for the past support she gave me when I first started out baking. I was satisfied with the cake.


I was happy with the cream, it is much better than the previous times I baked sponge cake.


A close up.

The most important thing I forgot is actually taking photos of my sister-in-law with her family and the cake.. But at least I’m glad she liked the cake! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Durian Cake!

  1. Hello Junie,
    So sorry that I took so long to reply. I’ve completely forgotten about it.

    Well the durian cake needless to say was superb. Together with the kids and Aunty Liz, we finished what was left of the cake within 2 days. Haha…

    However, the cake is not what I really wish to highlight here. It’s the thought of you wanting to do it for me, the effort, time and passion put into making this wonderful durian cake, that justified this special mention 🙂 We love it.

    You’ve got a lot of admirers already and I’m so proud of you. Here’s wishing you success and hope that you can fulfill your dream of having a cakeshop in the near future. Let’s toast to it :))

    My heartfelt thanks and appreciation once again to you, Junie and also to Germaine.

  2. Hi i was wondering why my cake is not getting up and what do you mean by 1/2 cream of tartar… And how long do we bake them for and what temperature…. Thx

  3. Hi Christian, apologies for the late reply.
    Thanks for your comment as I forgot to include the time frame to bake the cake. Bake for around 30 minutes should be good. In between you may check to see if its ready. The temperature is 160 degrees, as stated above.

    For the cream of tartar, I forgot to include ‘teaspoon’. So it’s 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar. You may try out Bake King’s cream of tartar that is available on local stores. If you are Singaporean, Phoon Huat should have it. It actually gives more lightness to sponge and chiffon cakes. Your cake did not rise is probably due to the raising agents like cream of tartar and baking powder. Either that or you made a mistake somewhere while making the cake.

  4. Hi there… your cake looked really delicious. I was wondering what kind of sugar are you referring to. Can I use the normal sugar?

    • Hi Juni
      Thanks for sharing your receipe 😄
      Notice there’s gelatin in your ingrediates
      But there’s no mention as to when to add
      to creamy durian filling
      Appreciate if u could reply
      Thanks

Leave a Reply

